TGI Favorites: Bookmarks

I decided I wanted to continue a series I had on this blog in the past. TGI Favorites will be posted every Friday and will highlight something in my life, bookish or non-bookish, that is on my current favorites list. In the past I’ve done favorite coffee, reading locations, book covers, and things about fall.

This week’s TGI Favorites topic is bookmarks!

I have turned into a bookmark hoarder, which is kind of hilarious for me. Growing up I read all the time, but I generally didn’t even use a real bookmark. I would grab whatever piece of paper was near, or a sticky note, or some other random thing I could press in the pages. When I did use an actual bookmark I would end up losing it, which is why I eventually just tended not to use one.

Randomly after I graduated from college and started really building my book collection I was introduced to magnetic bookmarks. I used to get the monthly Owlcrate boxes (and will be getting them again now, so keep an eye out for those unboxings!) and in one of the first ones I received there were two Halloween themed magnetic bookmarks. The skeleton was about the cutest thing I’d ever seen, and after that I was just hooked on them.

Magnetic bookmarks end up working out perfectly for me. I mark my page, and then when I start reading I magnet it to one of the back pages of the book so I don’t lose it. I don’t have to worry about it blowing away or getting thrown away by accident. Once I realized how easy and convenient they were I bought some from Etsy. It has escalated over the years and sort of turned into a bookmark hoard.

The majority of my magnetic bookmarks are from CraftedVan on Etsy. They are my favorite shop for bookmarks and they constantly have new designs. Probably 2/3 of my bookmarks are from CraftenVan. I also have a set from Read & Wonder, which I also really, really like, especially Luna Lovegood. I recently ordered some ACOTAR themed bookmarks from them as well. I have one other Harry Potter set from Magicbookmarks and a paper grumpy cat bookmark from Wonderflies. All the shops I’ve mentioned I recommend!

It seems sort of a silly collection when you think about the fact that only one can be used at a time, but I usually have to go around to all my books every so often and pull all my bookmarks out of books that I started and never got around to finishing. Right now I know I have a strawberry cheesecake bookmark stuck in one somewhere. They just add to my enjoyment of reading by giving me options to suit my mood or the season.

What do you usually use for a bookmark? Do you do that usual “grab a sticky note” or do you enjoy having actual bookmarks as well? Let me know down below!

Nothing in this post is sponsored, I purchased all of my bookmarks with my own money for my own enjoyment.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑