June Book of the Month Subscription

This post is not sponsored or affiliated in any way, I purchase a subscription to Book of the Month and Owlcrate with my own money for my own enjoyment.

I recently started back up my subscription to Book of the Month after a few months without it. I enjoy getting bookish mail and Book of the Month is a very simple subscription service. I thought I would just do a review of using it so far and talk about the book I chose for this month.

If you’ve never heard of Book of the Month, it’s a monthly subscription service that sends you a book every month. You get to choose the book out of five options; you make your choice by the 6th of every month and your book is shipped to you. It costs $14.99 a month with free shipping and you get a hardback book, so it’s not a bad deal, and you can skip months if you want and save your credit to get an extra book in your box in a future month.

I enjoy getting Book of the Month (because books), however, I have felt like the options on books are pretty limited from a topic standpoint. There is usually good mix of currently popular books and ones I’ve never heard of, which I do really like. It will completely depend on what types of genres you like to read the most whether you find something you like. For example, this month there are two romance related contemporaries and a book about a pregnant teenager. I’m not a major reader of contemporary, so these aren’t great choices for me. Two of the three books I’ve received I haven’t picked up yet because I had heard of them prior to choosing them, but wasn’t overwhelmingly excited about them. That being said, I am pretty excited to read the book I chose for June.

I chose The Anomaly by Michael Rutger. The quick take description on Book of the Month’s website says, “If Dan Brown played Tomb Raider in a cave while hallucinating about evolution… he might write something like this.” That seems like a bold claim, but it was also very intriguing for me.

This book follows Nolan Moore. He’s an archeologist currently working on a documentary series considered more full of conspiracy theories than actual findings. He attempts to follow the expedition of a 1909 explorer who claimed to have found a very mysterious cave in the walls of the Grand Canyon. Nolan thinks he has actually found the cave he’s looking for, but things start going wrong and the quest becomes one of survival.

This sounds like something that is right up my alley, so I’m planning on trying to pick this book up soon. Thrillers with historical, scientific, or archeological elements always suck me in pretty quickly (probably why I like science fiction so much…). I’m glad this was a Book of the Month selection this month or I probably would never have heard of this book.

Overall, I feel like Book of the Month is a good service for someone who maybe doesn’t read as often as I do. I can go through 3 or 4 books in a good weekend, so I would rather just have the options on Amazon for the same price (or less) and choose something I’m really excited about every time. I am going to continue getting Book of the Month for now, but I may switch it out to get a different type of bookish subscription box (I’ve been checking out Cratejoy and there are a few I’d like to try at some point). I also get Owlcrate and I love the book-related goodies that are included. If you have any suggestions of other bookish or literary boxes that I should try out, let me know!

What are your thoughts on Book of the Month? What book did you get this month?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑